The main courtyard and the inside of the castle are accessible only in guided tours. The classic visit allows you to discover about ten rooms…
European Heritage Days
Les Journées européennes du patrimoine prolongent depuis plus de 30 ans l’héritage transmis par...
For the 2019 season the château is open to visit from the 13th of february to the 22th of december.
April, May, June, September: 10:00-12:00am / 2:00-6:00pm (closed on Wednesdays)
Guided tours: 10:30/11:30/2:30/3:30/4:30
from July 15th to August 15th : 10:00am -6:00pm every day
Guided tours: 11:00/15:00/16:30
Only in French
Louis XI is the son of Charles VII and Marie d’ Anjou, he was born to the episcopal palace of Bourges in 1423…
Formerly this area was called Plessis-le-Vent. It was bought by Jean Bourré , Grand Treasurer of King Louis XI , who gave his name in 1462 …
The castle was built at the direction of Jean Bourré in just 5 years from 1468 to 1473 , a remarkable achievement for the time. Even today it remains as it was built in the fifteenth century.
The Chateau du Plessis-Bourre has the distinction of being Transition style. Indeed, it has all the characteristics of an end of the medieval fortress with its defense system.